Lime Crêpe & Chocolate-Chilli-Ganache Lasagne

It’s gotten reaaaaally cold here this last week, winter has finally arrived. From too mild for winter to make-your-nose-burn-and-freeze-your-ears-off cold in a couple of days. Which made me want to cook thick soups and pasta with thick, creamy sauces this weekend. But then I had a conversation that made me change my mind.

Every week I chat with a colleague about what each of us intends to do and cook over the weekend. His girlfriend is French, and this week they were making crêpes. Which in turn reminded me that I’d been intending to make this lime crêpe lasagne for over a year now and have never gotten round to it. I’ve made it twice before for guests, and it’s a very, very rich dessert, so better try some portion control with the other courses…

Apart from being quite rich, this dessert combines all the tastes I love – not-too-sweet chocolate, a very subtle heat from the chillis, and a refreshing touch of lime. What’s not to like!?

As I’m currently exercising portion control in my everyday life, I used my dessert rings to cut out circles from the crêpes and stacked the end product in the dessert rings as well to make a mini version. This actually looked quite cute, you don’t have the frayed pancake edges, and it was much easier to spread the ganache onto a very small pancake. Makes for a nice presentation, so I would serve it like that to my guests next time.

The recipe is from a really old copy of Living at Home magazine. I’m posting the original list of ingredients here, but I have no idea how they managed to get 10 pancakes out of that amount of batter. I managed to get 3 out of it, so if I were to make this for more than two people, I’d have to double the amount to get 4 dessert rings worth of batter.

Lime Crêpe & Chocolate-Chilli-Ganache Lasagne

Ganache
140 g dark chocolate couverture
60 g butter
120 ml cream
1 red chilli

Crêpes
125 ml milk
3 eggs
100 g flour
grated zest of 2 limes
1 tbsp melted butter
15 g sugar
pinch of salt
butter for frying

Mix together milk and eggs, then add sugar and grated lime zest. Stir in sifted flour until batter is smooth. [It really is necessary to sift the flour – don’t leave out that step. It makes for a finer batter.] Add the melted butter and let batter sit for 5 minutes. Bake 10 large thin-ish pancakes and put aside.

Chop or break up couverture, and finely dice chilli [I deseeded the chilli]. Melt the chocolate over a bain-marie, add the chilli, then work in the butter, and add the cream last. [The original recipe says to combine everything before you melt the couverture, but I find it easier this way, as you have more control over the consistency. Also, I let the end product sit for a while until it had cooled down; the consistency will be thicker then and easier to spread.]

Spread some ganache on each pancake and stack them in a springform (or any other round pie form/dish the size of your pancakes that is high enough). Refrigerate for at least 1 hour, then carefully turn over and tip out of the form.

After turning the “lasagne” out of its form, it’s really up to your imagination how you want to serve it. You can cut it like a cake, or you can cut off the (rather frayed looking) edges and cut it up in squares. Or you can use the dessert ring method I used this time. I also like to add some icing sugar and lime zest to the top layer before serving.

