Christmas Jelly

A few months ago I had to buy a whole bottle of Crème de Cassis, which I resented a little because I only needed 2 tablespoons for a recipe, and you only get the stuff in large bottles. So this bottle has been sitting in my kitchen ever since, until the other day when I was thinking hard what else I could make with it. I didn’t have to think too long before two other seasonal C words popped into my mind – cranberry and cinnamon. The combination sounded quite christmassy to me, so I decided to make Christmas jelly.

I put it off for almost two weeks because I was so busy, and whenever I went shopping I forgot to buy cranberry juice. The good thing, though, is that this jelly is made in 15 minutes, so you could actually make it today and enjoy it with your Christmas breakfast.

I made jelly for the first time this year, Grape Jelly in October and then Clementine & Chilli Jelly in November, and both turned out delicious. This one turned out exactly as I had envisioned it, a nice deep red colour, and it totally tastes like Christmas. However, it has more than a hint of alcohol, so better not let the children have a taste of this…

Christmas Jelly

1 l / 4 cups cranberry juice
250 ml / 1 cup Crème de Cassis
4 cinnamon sticks
500 g / 2 cups 3:1 gelling sugar

Combine all ingredients in a large pot, stirring well so the sugar is covered by the liquid. Bring to a roiling boil. As soon as the boiling starts, keep on cooking for 5 minutes, then remove from heat.

Have your clean preserving jars ready – boiled and dried (or fresh from the dishwasher, hottest setting, and dried).  Remove the cinnamon sticks and break them in half (best to use rubber gloves for this). Divide the halved sticks between your jars. Fill jelly into jars, close them tightly and let them sit overnight.

On that seasonal note I want to thank you all for stopping by, reading and subscribing this last year – I had a lot of fun doing this and hope that so have you. I wish all of you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

