Chocolate Covered Mulled Wine Cherries

The other day a friend told me he needed to go to some shop to get more mulled wine cherries. He could read in my face I had no idea what he was talking about, so he described them, said they were cherries that tasted of mulled wine, covered in chocolate. While he was talking, a vision was already forming in my mind. I questioned him on the kind of chocolate used, consistency etc, and went shopping the same night to get ingredients for making this myself.

These chocolate covered mulled wine cherries turned out great, even though a couple of things in the process didn’t go as smoothly as I’d anticipated (see notes below). It was definitely worthwhile making them, and I would do it again anytime.

Please note that if you make your own mulled wine, you need to make it a whole day (not just the night) before. If you use shop bought mulled wine or already have some homemade, you need to start the night before.

Chocolate Covered Mulled Wine Cherries

1 recipe mulled wine (or 1 x 0.75 l bottle shop bought mulled wine)
1 glass morello cherries
200 – 250 g milk chocolate couverture

The day before making these cherries, make your mulled wine.

Then the night before, drain the cherries (catching the liquid if you want to use it for something else). Leave to drain while reheating the mulled wine (or the shop bought version). Bring the wine to a boil and cook on high heat until the consistency turns into syrup.

Once it has reached the right consistency, add the cherries to the pot. This will thin the consistency again, so you need to keep cooking until it reaches syrup consistency once again. When it has, take it off the stove and let sit overnight.

The next day, melt the chocolate in a bain-marie. Dip in the cherries, one after the other, and leave them to dry on a piece of baking parchment.

Notes:
There were a few challenges here, but none that are really off-putting.
To cook the wine until it turns into syrup, I used a pot that wasn’t very high, and I found that the wine tends to sort of spray over the pot so that the rim, handles and the surrounding stove area were sprinkled in dots of red wine. Next time I’d use a higher pot.
When I started out I had no idea how long it would take for the wine to turn syrupy. It took about 40 minutes, then another 20 after I added the cherries. I know this sounds like a lot of time and effort, but it really isn’t because you don’t have to stand there and watch it cook. I set my kitchen timer every 15 minutes to check on the consistency.
When I covered the cherries in chocolate the problem was that they had syrup on them, which has the same effect on molten chocolate as water – it thickens and sort of ruins the consistency of the chocolate. 2/3 of the batch looked perfect, but the more syrup got mixed into the chocolate the uglier it became, so the last 1/3 is basically the part that I’ll eat myself and the pretty looking ones I’ll give away…

