Rosemary Almonds

These should by rights be called Rosemary, Chili & Lime Almonds. But I’ll only call them that after I’ve improved the recipe. And from this statement, I guess you can gather that they’re good, but not perfect.

I dug out this really old recipe from Living at Home magazine, and on reading through it, I already knew I wanted to spruce it up with some kind of powdered spice. So I added chili & lime rub powder to it, and the result was kind of what I had aimed for. But even as I’m typing this, my taste buds keep hallucinating about what these almonds would have tasted like if I’d added grated lime zest. And that is the improvement I have in mind for the next time I’ll make this.

And make this again I definitely will. It’s very quickly done, it’s perfect for guests to go with an aperitif, and like most everything you put on the table to snack on while having a drink these can be addictive.

Rosemary Almonds

100 g almonds
100 g skinned almonds
olive oil
2 tbsp finely cut rosemary needles
1 tbsp sea salt
chili & lime rub, to taste

Mix all ingredients well in a bowl. Line a baking sheet with baking paper and pour almond mix on it.

Bake for 10 – 12 minutes at 200°C / 400°F. Leave to cool. [I found it’s worth to try a couple straight out of the oven, but beware – the heat will make your tongue sizzle!]

