Summer Fruit with Lime Syrup

Last Monday my three-week summer vacation started. No big plans to go anywhere, visiting my sister didn’t work out after all due to her work schedule, and the only thing I was going to do was meet friends and cook, bake, and preserve all the stuff that’s been piling up in my “recipes to try while on vacation” folder.

So far, I have made absolutely nothing. I just couldn’t be bothered. The first day of my vacation, I wanted to just hang out on the balcony and read. On days two to four I was meeting friends and having a hair appointment. On day five I at least managed to visit our local Friday market.

So the only thing my stove has seen this last week is a small pot of lime syrup. I was rooting through my magazine basket the other week and there was this picture of a tropical fruit salad with lime syrup on the cover of an old issue of delicious magazine. However, there was no recipe inside for it, so I just bought what took my fancy at the market, cut everything up, and poured over some lime syrup. A really lazy dessert, but very delicious, and I really savoured the last of the summer fruit.

Summer Fruit with Lime Syrup

watermelon
cantaloupe
honeydew melon
fresh pineapple
blueberries
raspberries
nectarines
fresh coconut, cut into strips with a vegetable peeler
50 ml freshly pressed lime juice
50 ml water
80 g sugar [I used cane sugar]


In a small pot, heat the lime juice, water and sugar. Let boil until sugar is completely dissolved, then take off the heat and let cool.

Cut the fruit any which way you like [I used a melon baller for the melons and just cut the pineapple and nectarine into pieces.]

Arrange fruit on a large plate or individual ones, and pour over some lime syrup.

