Avocado & Buffalo Mozzarella Bruschetta

This is one of the 14 recipes I’ve earmarked in the July issue of essen & trinken magazine. And I’ve already made it twice within a fortnight, once to see if it’s guest proof, and then on the actual dinner date.

Pretty quickly done, the bread part can easily be prepared ahead, and utterly delicious. I can recommend these as a starter and wouldn’t hesitate to claim you and your guests will love them.

One piece of advice, though – only saying this because I tend to do this sometimes: do not substitute the buffalo mozzarella for plain mozzarella. I know the buffalo is more pricey, but it really is part of the taste experience in this recipe.

Avocado & Buffalo Mozzarella Bruschetta

1 baguette
6 tbsp olive oil
2 garlic cloves
2 ripe avocados
salt
pepper
sugar
2 tbsp lemon juice
approx. 350 g buffalo mozzarella
4 basil stalks
1 tsp smoked paprika powder (Pimentón ahumado)
fleur de sel

Serves 6 – 8

Cut baguette into 2 cm slices diagonally. Heat 4 tbsp olive oil in a pan and fry baguette slices in portions from both sides until golden brown. [I dry fried the baguette, that worked perfectly.]

Rub one side of each baguette slice with garlic. [I found it hard to keep a grip on the garlic cloves while doing this, so I cut off the small end of each clove, rubbed the bread until the clove was too small to hold properly, then used the next one. I actually needed 4 cloves to cover all the slices. And as usual, I wore rubber gloves for the smell…]

Peel avocados, halve, and remove stone. Mash avocado flesh with a fork, and season with salt, pepper, a pinch of sugar and lemon juice.

Drain mozzarella, then slice. Pick basil leaves off the stalks.

Spread avocado mix onto the baguette slices, top with a slice of mozzarella and one or more basil leaves, depending on size of leaves. Drizzle with the remaining olive oil and dust with paprika powder. Season lightly with pepper and fleur de sel.

