Cherry Walnut Cookies

So I’ve used cherries from a glass for my first cherry post, and fresh ones for the second. Which left me with only one more option to try. Another variation on the basic recipe I used for the coconut cookies I made last month. Someone was showing off a new kitchen gadget at a friend’s house where they made cherry sorbet with frozen cherries in only 5 minutes. I have to admit I’d never come across frozen cherries before, but I thought them intriguing and was wondering what else you could make with them. Having acquired a new kitchen gadget myself that came with a blender, I decided to use mine to make cherry cookies. So that’s what I did a few days later.

Thinking that frozen cherries wouldn’t be as messy and squishy in the dough as fresh ones, I had to learn that wasn’t necessarily the case. Not that it had a negative effect on the end result, but I have to tell you the combination of roughly chopped walnuts and half-frozen, slowly thawing cherries  made for an ugly and not so easy to handle dough.

Cherry Walnut Cookies 01

With the coconut cookies the consistency of the dough made it really easy to roll it out and cut out cookies with a cutter instead of heaping teaspoonfuls of dough onto the baking sheet, which is what I had expected this dough to be like as well. So I just heaped some dough onto my chopping board, pressed it down with the palms of my rubber gloved hands, and took a cookie cutter to it. I needed a spatula to transfer the cookies onto a baking sheet, though, to keep them in one piece due to their crumbly consistency.

It was well worth it all, as even though these are not firm crisp cookies but soft and moist ones, the taste is excellent, refreshing even.  Cherries and walnuts – great combination.

Lately I seem to be learning a lot while cooking, baking, creating things, and I want to share what I’ve learned making these cookies with you: if you ever forget to take the butter out of the fridge because your recipe asks for soft butter, and your dishwasher happens to be running and is just about to be done, then you’re really lucky! Mine had just finished its cycle when I realised I had forgotten to take the butter out.  So – with the clean dishes still in there – I put the butter on the top shelf of the dishwasher, in between the still steaming dishes, waited for about 10 minutes, and was able to start on the recipe straight away.

Cherry Walnut Cookies 02

Cherry Walnut Cookies

125 g soft butter
125 g light cane sugar
1 egg
120 g rolled oats
1 tbsp milk
125 g flour
½ tsp baking powder
1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
100 g walnuts, roughly chopped
300 g frozen cherries, unthawed

Beat butter and sugar until creamy, then add egg, rolled oats and milk. Beat some more, then sieve in the flour, baking powder and cocoa. Mix, then add walnuts.

Blitz the cherries in a food processor. They shouldn’t be too mushy but have a few pieces left. Add to the dough and mix again until all ingredients are well distributed.

Cherry Walnut Cookies 03

Preheat oven to 160°C (fan). Either heap teaspoonfuls of dough onto a parchment lined baking sheet and flatten the heaps, or flatten the dough onto a chopping board or work surface, then cut out cookie shapes with a cookie cutter, and transfer them to the baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes.

Leave to cool, but try at least one while they’re warm! As for storing them, they’re too moist to store them on to top of each other, they’ll be sticking together. If you have the space, leave them on a cooling rack next to each other, or with baking parchment in between layers. I don’t recommend storing them in a cookie tin as that will make them even softer.

Cherry Walnut Cookies 04

