Coconut Cookies

A little while ago, I made up my mind to buy one of three things: an Airfryer, a new camera, or a stand mixer. I’d heard great things about the Airfryer but my suspicion was that I’d use it a lot in the beginning because it would be a novelty, and then it would just be standing around taking away space on my work surface. Then I checked with some people who had good cameras whether I should invest in a new one, but on seeing some of the pictures my current camera was capable of taking, they said they didn’t see a need to invest in a new one.

Okay, so that was easy then – by process of elimination the decision was made to buy a stand mixer. Only it wasn’t easy, because I started thinking about which brand of mixer. I love the retro look of the Kitchenaid but know lots of people who have a Bosch and say it’s the best one they’ve ever had and they wouldn’t exchange it for anything. My internet research came up with way more points on the plus side for the Bosch. So only one more decision to make: which colour?

Then I visited a former co-worker, and we were standing in her kitchen chatting when she opened a cupboard and I saw a Bosch mixer. And that’s when I remembered she actually works for Bosch. It turned out Bosch happen to have their 125th anniversary this year and through my friend I got a hefty discount. I was one happy bunny that day!

So I’ve made quite a few things already, with my nose hovering at the rim of the mixing bowl while the machine did its thing, thinking how great it was I didn’t have to beat and knead all that dough with my hands. I’ve made bread dough, cookie dough, ice cream… and I’ll be making so much more. I already love this machine and still feel like a child on Christmas Day every time I switch it on.

So, on to the cookies. I have this German book called Schokolade, and there’s a cookie recipe I go back to every time I have cookie cravings. However, I’ve only stuck to the original recipe once, all the other times I’ve adapted it according to what was in the pantry. This time I had some espresso chocolate lying around and intended to make espresso chocolate & coconut cookies. If you get to the ingredients list below, you’ll notice there is no mention of espresso chocolate. That’s because – as happens so often, unfortunately – my brain seems to be really busy and way ahead of what I’m doing, so it must have thought I’d already added the chocolate to the dough. When the cookies where in the oven and I started to clear up the kitchen, I noticed the bowl with the chocolate still sitting there. Arrrrgh! The cookies turned out really, really great, though, and I will stick with this version of the recipe from now on. I’ll have to try an espresso version some other time (I’m thinking maybe espresso chocolate & walnut cookies). After all, that mixer has to pay itself off…

Coconut Cookies

125 g soft butter
125 g light cane sugar
1 egg
100 g rolled oats
1 tbsp milk
½ tsp vanilla essence
125 g flour [I used spelt flour]
1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
½ tsp baking powder
80 g unsweetened coconut strips, shredded

Preheat oven to 180°C. Beat butter and sugar until creamy. Incorporate the egg, then the rolled oats, milk and vanilla essence, and mix. Next add sieved flour, cocoa powder and baking powder into the bowl and mix again. Last, add the coconut and mix one last time.

Roll out dough on a floured surface, and cut out cookies with a cookie cutter. Put them on two baking trays – oiled or with baking paper – and bake for 15 minutes.

The original recipe says to portion the dough onto the baking trays with two teaspoons and pat it down. However, the consistency of my dough was such that it could be rolled out. I’m not unhappy at all that I forgot to add the chocolate because with the cocoa powder these cookies are already chocolaty enough, and the flavour of the coconut comes out really well.

