Tarte Flambée Strips with Asparagus

I find new recipes that I want to give a try almost on a daily basis.  So I keep them bookmarked if they’re online, or if I tore them out of magazines I’ll put them in a box, or a folder if I have a day where I feel very disciplined.  Both varieties usually just stay where they are, and I don’t even have the time to look through them all if I fancy trying something new.

I’ve even refrained from buying new cookbooks for quite a while.  I bought one last year, and three this year, but apart from those, I haven’t bought any for at least three years.  Because they end up on my bookshelf, looking good, but more or less unused.

So I have made some resolutions.  The first is: no new cookbooks, no cooking magazines, no printing of online recipes.  The latter I will keep bookmarked, but I’ll review them every once in a while to see if I’m still interested.  If not, delete.

The second resolution is to go to my printed and filed recipes first before looking anywhere else.  And I’ve already followed through on that one last week.  I’m currently making plans for another dinner with friends, and thought I’d peruse my different recipe media to find something I fancy.  My bookmarked recipes were too unorganized, same for the ones torn out of magazines, so that left the printouts I’ve had neatly filed away in a folder for a long time.  And what do you say, I found real treasures.  An abundance of recipes, never tried, simply printed and filed – and then forgotten.

This tarte flambée is one of them, though by rights it should be called cheat’s tarte flambée as it is made with phyllo pastry.  It makes a very nice and light (see note below) starter.  The recipe is from Living at Home magazine.

Tarte Flambée

600 g white asparagus
125 g phyllo dough
50 g butter
150 g bacon
3 shallots
1 tbsp crème fraîche
freshly ground black pepper

Peel asparagus, trim ends and cut the stalks into thick diagonal slices.  Add asparagus pieces to boiling salt water and let boil very shortly.  Drain asparagus, rinse under cold water, and drain.

Put 3 – 4 sheets of phyllo dough on top of each other, spreading melted butter over each sheet.  Cut sheets into 20 pieces, each about 4 cm wide.

Preheat oven to 250ºC (230ºC in fan oven).  Cut bacon into fine strips. Dice shallots.

Spread crème fraîche onto the phyllo strips, and top each one with bacon, shallots and asparagus.  Season with pepper.

Bake for 8 – 10 minutes, until golden brown.

Note:  The above mentioned ingredients are as per the original recipe.  For my version I tweaked them a little to make a sort of light version:  instead of butter I used Pam spray, and I substituted crème fraîche for crème légère.  The mix of white and green asparagus was just for a bit of colour.

