Just a little lifestyle update…

I’ve been a little unhappy with the state of my kitchen for the last year or so.  A few years ago, when we painted the kitchen, I decided to get rid of the overhead cupboards and open shelves, because I wanted a more minimalistic look.  I got that alright, but as a result I had a storage problem.  I bought a makeshift cupboard at IKEA as an interim solution until I found something perfect.  The makeshift one had the disadvantage of being as deep as the ones beneath the work surface, which made it a pest to get things out of it, because I always had to take stuff out to get to something else.


In January this year I conceded defeat and bought a new overhead cupboard, albeit a really nice one, which is only 30 cm high but 120 cm long.  And I love it!  Which then got me thinking about the overall situation again.  I always think I don’t have enough space on my work surface, when in fact I have more than enough.  Only it’s cluttered with stuff that should go in cupboards but I don’t have enough space there.  So I finally decided on new cupboards, ones I didn’t have to compromise on but really like and will be happy to live with.  I ordered them at IKEA, and they were delivered two days later, which was great but meant I didn’t really have enough time to go through the existing cupboards to do some serious decluttering.  So for the last two weeks, I’ve had both new cupboards and kitchen chaos because it took a while to think everything through, chuck out stuff I’ve never used, clean out the old cupboards and rearrange the contents.

Last weekend the state of the kitchen was such that I was able to invite guests again, because everything has now found its new place.  The only things still missing are the doors on the new cupboards because I found out that with IKEA doors there are no pre-drilled holes for the handles.  You have to calculate the spacing etc yourself – unless, as I found out yesterday, you buy their drilling templates which of course were sold out.  So there’ll be another one week delay (therefore, no pics yet), but as the basics are done and the kitchen is fully operable, I can concentrate on baking, cooking, creating again…

Some of the next posts will be featuring some ingredients I didn’t know I had hidden away in my cupboards.  With some, I was surprised I even had them, with others I didn’t know why on earth I had such large amounts stored away.  So stay tuned for one or two “Oh!  I didn’t know I had that – what am I going to do with it?” posts!

