Bear’s Garlic Pesto

A lot of people I know love bear’s garlic, and every year when it’s in season they get quite excited about it.  I had never tried it, so couldn’t understand the excitement, really.  The other day I came across bunches of it in the supermarket and decided on the spot to buy some.  As is often the case when I buy stuff that’s not on my shopping list, I had no idea what I would make from it.  Browsing through my food mags, I came upon several recipes featuring bear’s garlic, and decided on pesto because… you might have guessed it – it was the easiest recipe 🙂  However, I exchanged all ingredients except for the bear’s garlic itself, so this is my very own creation.

Bear's Garlic Pesto 01

Bear’s Garlic Pesto

100 g bear’s garlic
80 g cashew nuts
80 g Comté cheese
120 ml lime oil
salt
pepper

Finely chop the bear’s garlic and cashews, and grate the Comté.  Combine all 3 ingredients, add the lime oil, season to taste, then give it a final whizz with a handheld blender until it has reached a consistency of your liking.

Bear's Garlic Pesto 02

My reasons for using the above ingredients:  I didn’t want to use Parmesan, because I find in pesto its taste is too sharp for my liking.  The reason I chose Comté in particular is because it’s milder and softer than Parmesan.  Almonds were too predictable for my taste, which is why I chose cashews, and I happened to have a new bottle of lime oil so I used that instead of regular olive oil;  it rounds up the whole “softer” theme.

All in all, I was surprised how well it turned out, because I thought the bear’s garlic would dominate the overall taste of the pesto, but it doesn’t.  This pesto really has kind of a soft taste, and I will definitely make it again.  And while bear’s garlic is in season, I might well try some more recipes with it.

Bear's Garlic Pesto 03

