Cherry Cake Muffins with Lemongrass Scented Cream

A friend of mine gave me this cherry cake recipe what seems like aeons ago.  And the other day I noticed I hadn’t made this cake in aeons.  When you see such fabulous things in food magazines and blogs a cherry cake seems so mundane.  However, the most mundane things can be beautified, so I decided to make muffins from this recipe as well as mini muffins, and decorate them with lemongrass scented cream, the recipe for which comes – again – from Living at Home magazine.

Cherry Cake Muffins 01

Just a note beforehand, in case you want to try this:  the lemongrass scented cream needs to be prepared a day ahead, as it has to be refrigerated overnight!

By the way, if you’re put off by any European measurements in my recipes, you’ll find conversion links in the right column!

Cherry Cake Muffins 02

Cherry Cake Muffins with Lemongrass Scented Cream

  • Servings: 12
  • Print

Lemongrass Scented Cream

7 stalks lemongrass
10 g sugar
200 ml water
250 ml cream
1 pack (8 g) stabiliser for whipping cream

Wash lemongrass stalks and cut off root ends. Crush the stalks with the bottom of a heavy pan. [I put them between 2 sheets of clingfilm before crushing them.] Cut them in rings and cook together with the sugar and water. [I just crushed them, because I didn’t want the lemongrass taste to be overpowering.] Let boil for 7 – 10 minutes, until liquid is reduced to 50 ml (there shouldn’t be more liquid left than that!).

Add the unwhipped cream and refrigerate overnight.

The next day, pour cream through a sieve and whip up with stabiliser.

Cherry Cake Muffins 03

Cherry Cake Muffins

250 g margarine
100 g wholemeal flour
150 g sugar
100 g ground almonds or hazelnuts
1 tsp cinnamon
5 eggs, divided
100 g grated chocolate
1 TL baking powder
1 jar sour (morello) cherries (approx. 125 g)

Beat together margarine, sugar and egg yolks until foamy. Add flour, baking powder, almonds or hazelnuts, cinnamon, and chocolate. Whisk egg whites until stiff, and incorporate into dough.

Fill dough into muffin cases, and place cherries on top, slightly pressing them into the dough, but not the whole way down. For the regular sized muffins I put in 3 cherries each, and 1 each for the mini muffins. Bake the regular sized muffins for 25 minutes at 180ºC (160ºC in fan oven), and the mini muffins for 20 minutes. Let cool, then decorate with whipped lemongrass scented cream.

Cherry Cake Muffins 04

Notes: If you can get double cream or heavy cream, I suppose you wouldn’t need stabiliser.  German cream is lower in fat and of a more liquid consistency, so it requires stabiliser to stay in shape.

I used hazelnuts because I had a pack of ground ones handy.  I was too lazy to grind the whole almonds I had, but next time would opt for almonds, just because I prefer their taste to that of hazelnuts.

