Coconut & Lime Ice Cream

I know, not really the season, is it?  Unless you live in Southern spheres, maybe. But ever since I made that Margarita Ice Cream last year, I’ve been meaning to make it again.  Only I never got to it.

I was actually thinking of coconut and lime in a totally different context – more on that at some later point, if it all works out…  – and suddenly remembered the creamy smoothness of that margarita ice cream.  Now, coconut ice cream has always been one of my favourite ice creams, but the brand I love is only sold in restaurants and not in supermarkets.  So, I thought, I’ll have to make some myself.

This recipe is (very) roughly based on that of the margarita ice cream in that I used cream and icing sugar.  What I came up with is a simple 5 ingredient recipe that only takes about 10 minutes to make.  No ice cream maker necessary, no stirring the ice cream during the freezing process.  It will, however, not be quite as soft as the margarita version, because it has no alcohol in it (which doesn’t freeze through completely and thus leaves the ice cream slightly softer).

Coconut + Lime Ice Cream 03


Coconut & Lime Ice Cream

160 ml coconut milk
juice of 1 lime
2/3 cup icing sugar
handful of dried coconut, shredded
1 cup cream

Combine coconut milk, lime juice and icing sugar in a bowl, and stir until sugar has dissolved.  [I used a handheld mixer.]  Add the shredded coconut, keep on stirring.

Add the cream, then whip until thick and smooth but not stiff.

Pour into an airtight container and freeze overnight.

Coconut + Lime Ice Cream 02
A note on the ingredients:  The original recipe actually calls for heavy cream, but there’s only one kind of cream you can get in Germany, so if you’re thinking of trying this and can get heavy cream, I’d use that.

There is no reasoning behind the measures I used – I simply wanted to try out something but not in large amounts, just in case it didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to.  So I halved the amount of cream from the original recipe;  I only had a 160 ml can of coconut  milk, so that’s why I chose that (also, I find that coconut milk can have a sort of “oily” taste, and I wanted to avoid that by using too much);  and I had already poured the cream into the 1 cup measuring cup, which is why I couldn’t  use the ½ cup measuring cup (it’s one of those 2-in-one flip thingies) and, therefore, chose the 2/3 cup measuring cup.  Not very scientific, I know…  But I’ve never been a maths person anyway.  Seems like my instincts are well intact, though, as from a taste point of view it all turned out great!

What I would do differently next time:  Add some more lime juice, maybe from 2 or 3 limes, and I would also add some lime zest, both for taste and colour.  However, I find that served sprinkled with grated lime zest, it tastes very good, too.

This ice cream doesn’t really need softening before serving, so you can just whip it out of the freezer when fancy strikes…

Coconut + Lime Ice Cream 03

