Pink Grapefruit & Mint Marmalade

Here’s another childhood food story.  While making Blood Orange & Vanilla Marmalade last week, I was wondering what other seasonal fruit I’d like to make jam of.  I didn’t have to think long – it would be grapefruit.  It would need to have something else in it, though not vanilla again.  I was thinking of something herbal, and then I knew – grapefruit & mint.  I could almost taste it just thinking about it.

Contrary to blood oranges, I have always loved grapefruit.  However, I couldn’t be bothered to eat it when I was younger.  The reason is that when I grew up there was only one way to eat grapefruit (and there was only the yellow variety), which was cut in half and sprinkled with sugar.  But it was absolutely no fun eating it, because you had to try to get the flesh out of their little halved segments with a teaspoon.  Time consuming and so not worth it, because of course with a teaspoon not much of the flesh would come out.

Nowadays, I eat them differently – remember my tirade about the nuisance of filleting oranges?  Well, it’s an entirely different story with grapefruit.  For me, it’s the only way to eat them.  And I don’t mind filleting ten of them in one go.  But they have to have the sort of coarse flesh, not the fine flesh that oranges have.  Sometimes it’s like a lottery peeling them – will they be like oranges, or the way I want them?  I prefer the pink ones as I’ve had the most luck with them so far flesh-wise, and because they’re a tad sweeter than the yellow ones.

Pink Grapefruit & Mint Marmalade

1 kg filleted pink grapefruit
1 kg sugar
8 g fresh mint, finely chopped

Fillet the grapefruit.  Combine with the sugar in a heavy-based pan, bring to a rolling boil, and cook for 25 minutes.  Add the mint, and boil for a further 5 minutes.  Fill into clean, warm jars.


As you can see from the four-sentence instructions above, this is very easy to make.  The grapefruit I bought had very coarse flesh, which really helps as it comes out of its skin like a dream.  I needed 6 middle-sized pieces of fruit to make up 1 kg of fillets, and it took me about 30 minutes to fillet the fruit  (not counting the time I spent in between to take pictures).   This coarse-fleshed variety produces hardly any juice at all, but during cooking it became very liquid, and the marmalade is quite runny.  If you prefer a thicker consistency, I recommend using jam sugar instead of plain sugar.

I upped the sugar ratio from what I usually use, because grapefruit are relatively bitter.  It turned out that the 1:1 ratio produces exactly the result I was aiming for.

As for the mint, I had a 15 g bunch, chucked only half of it into the pot, saw that it seemed to spread evenly among the mix, so it looked good.  Then I tasted some – carefully! – and found the amount just right.  You can definitely taste it in the marmalade, but it doesn’t dominate.

