Out With The Old, In With The New

I’m not referring to tomorrow being New Year’s Eve.  Shortly before Christmas I was finally completely fed up with my dining chair covers.  At some point during the last two years they’d acquired tomato sauce spots, and as they are stapled to the chair frames, it’s a bit of an act to just take them off and wash them.

I’d already bought fabric to make new covers this summer, only to have it lying around until December.  The main reason for this is that colourwise the new covers are more fitting for autumn and winter.

Pain in the neck that it is to pull out every single staple and then struggle to get the new fabric on exactly the way you want it, it’s nice to have something new, the effect is always great,  and at so little cost, too.  I get the fabrics from IKEA, for 5 Euros per metre, and 1 metre is enough to cover four chairs.

I just wish it would be that easy to tackle the next thing on my list – completely clearing out the kitchen cupboards, cleaning them, and rearranging the contents…  Then again, there’s always next year to do that.

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who keeps coming back to this blog.  When I started out seven months ago, it was a jump into cold water, and I had no idea how it would go.  So far, it’s a lot of fun, and I’m feeling good about it.  On that note, I wish you all a

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

