Oven Baked Pork Fillets with Onion & Mustard Topping

The family came for lunch today, so I tried to impress them.  It worked 🙂 .   I pulled out all the stops with the visuals, too, using my grandmother’s flatware and silver cutlery.

For me it’s always easy to find something I want to cook for guests, my list of “must try” dishes is quite long.  I’d sit there writing down lots of stuff I could make – starters, mains, sides, and dessert, so much to choose from, but one thing I always struggle with is the meat part.  Looking at the list of possibilities, I’d realise I have written down ten different choices for each course, but no meat.  Maybe it’s because I’m quite a picky meat eater, and preparing it is not exactly my greatest joy.  I always find something to make in the end, but as I said, it’s rather a struggle.

This is a recipe I jotted down during some cooking show on TV a couple of years ago.  I’ve made it before, so that was one thing I knew would work out.  The other stuff I hadn’t made before, but this fits with my “no risk no fun” motto for cooking.

For starters I made carrot and cumin soup.  This I just improvised on because I found I hadn’t been looking in the fridge before doing the shopping and suddenly had a major carrot surplus.

For sides I made potato & sweet potato mash, and green beans with crispy parma ham, both from my BBC cookbook “good food for friends”.


Oven Baked Pork Fillets with Onion & Mustard Topping

5 – 6 medium sized onions (400 g)
1 tbsp butter
2 tbsp white wine vinegar
200 g crème fraîche
5 tsp grainy mustard
pepper
salt
sugar
pinch of sweet paprika powder
600 g pork fillet
12 – 16 slices bacon (thinly sliced)
½ bunch parsley

Preheat oven to 225ºC / 425º F (fan oven 200ºC / 400ºF).  Peel onions, halve them and slice them thinly.

Heat butter in a large pan and sauté onions for 5 minutes. Stir in vinegar and let simmer for 1 – 2 minutes at low heat.  Add crème fraîche, stir, and let simmer or another 5 minutes, then stir mustard, and season with pepper, sugar, paprika, and a little salt.

Wash and dry fillet, then cut into 12 – 16 slices.  Pat the slices down slightly with your hand or the blade of a large knife, then season with salt and pepper. [I use salt sparingly here as the bacon will be a bit salty, too.]


Fold over each bacon slice so it’ll be slightly larger than the fillet.  [The folding over works like folding a piece of paper, only the two parts will not be on top of each other but next to each other.  If you look closely, you can see it in the picture.]

Set each bacon slice on a baking sheet and put a fillet piece on top of each.  Top each piece of pork fillet with some of the onion mixture.  Bake in oven for 15 – 20 minutes.

Chop the parsley and sprinkle over each fillet.  [I sprinkled it over about 5 minutes before it came out of the oven – I thought I’d forgotten to add it, then realised afterwards it should have been sprinkled on afterwards.  Didn’t do any harm at all.]


This is supposed to feed 4, but I had quite a bit left over, even though everyone had two pieces, so could have fed two or three more.  This is a recipe that will definitely stay in my recipe folder and I know I will fall back on often.

