Sour Cream Cookies

The last of the Christmas baking is done.  These sour cream cookies are from another recipe I found in some magazine or other, and I’ve been making them for a couple of years now.

The recipe asks for a ring shape, but in previous years I also used other cookie cutter shapes because I thought the more dough the cookie was made of the better.  However, due to consisting mostly of butter and sour cream, these cookies are very rich, and meanwhile I find that a smaller amount of dough per cookie is actually better, otherwise you might start feeling sick after only two or three pieces…

Sour Cream Cookies 01

What I don’t like about the ring shapes is that it’s really difficult to sprinkle the decorating sugar over them.  I always end up having more of it on the baking sheet than on the cookies.

When you cut out the ring shapes, you’ll have the inner circle left, which I used to bake in the same way, i.e. brushed with egg yolk and sprinkled with decorating sugar.  This year I wanted to try something else, so I mixed some icing sugar with a little lime juice, then added some of the mulled wine jelly I made last Christmas.  I was aiming for something that wasn’t totally boring but was a good counterbalance to the rich buttery taste of the cookies, and would add some colour to the icing mixture.  And it worked very well.  The pinkish colour looks nice, and you can taste both the butter and sour cream in the cookie and still get a good hint of mulled wine from the icing.

Sour Cream Cookies 02

Sour Cream Cookies

250 g flour
4 level tbsp sour cream, 10 % fat
175 g cold butter
1 egg yolk
50 g decorating sugar

Sour Cream Cookies 03

Mix together flour, sour cream and butter in flakes in a mixing bowl.  Knead to a smooth dough with cool hands [I find that rubber gloves are quite practical here to keep the dough cooler as your hands get warmer.]

Roll out dough approx. ½ cm thick on a well floured surface.  Cut out ring shapes by using a round cutter shape, then use a smaller shape to cut out inner circles.  Put on a baking sheet fitted with baking paper.  Brush with egg yolk and sprinkle with decorating sugar.

Bake in a preheated oven at 175ºC for 15 minutes.  Take out of the oven and let cool on a wire rack.

For the cut out round middle pieces, you can either proceed as with the ring shapes above, or mix some icing sugar and lime juice, and anything else you want to use to give it either additional taste or colour, and ice the shapes.

Sour Cream Cookies 04

