Cinnamon Stars

My third batch of Christmas cookies is done – cinnamon stars, traditional ones this time.  Since I discovered this recipe three years ago, I love making these.  Unfortunately I cannot remember which magazine it is from.

All my previous recipes left me with extremely sticky dough, hands, and work surface, and therefore in a bad mood.  Which you do not want to be in either during or because of Christmas baking.  Although I must say that I found myself in a not too Christmassy mood today – it might be due to the weather, all the snow is gone again, it’s been raining for days, and the Christmas music I intended to listen to during baking just grated on my nerves.  So I put on some Three Days Grace, which gave me exactly the motivation I needed to do some serious baking.

Cinnamon Stars 2-02

Cinnamon Stars

3 egg whites
300 g icing sugar
1 packet (8 g) bourbon vanilla sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch of ground cardamom
350 – 400 g ground almonds
[1 egg white + 100 g icing sugar – see comment below]

Cinnamon Stars 2-01

Beat egg whites until very firm. Sieve icing sugar and add to the egg whites by the tablespoonful. Put aside 3 tbsp of the mixture for icing. [This is where the extra egg white + 100 g icing sugar come in. The 3 tbsp of icing which the original recipe mentions will never be enough for the amount of cookies – about 50 – this dough makes. I use the complete mixture for the dough, and beat 1 more egg white, adding 100 g of icing sugar to use for icing.]

Add vanilla sugar, cinnamon and cardamom – here I also use more than the recipe states, 1 level tsp instead of a pinch – and the ground almonds, and stir until the dough is no longer very sticky. It will stay a little sticky, but not very. Roll out dough between two sheets of cut-up freezer bags until it’s about 1 cm / ½ in thick. Refrigerate for 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 130ºC / 270ºF (100ºC / 210ºF in a fan oven). Cut out star shapes from the dough, put them on a baking sheet lined with baking paper, spread icing on the star shapes, then bake for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 100ºC / 210ºF (80ºC / 175ºF in a fan oven) and bake for another 15 minutes. Pull the whole sheet of baking paper including the cookies from the baking sheet and let cool.

Cinnamon Stars 2-03

I’m sure I’ll be making another batch of these soon, as they always go like hot cakes…

