Vegetable Lasagne

Last night I went food shopping.  With the best intentions.  I even went as far as putting salad ingredients into my trolley.  Lots of them.  Then I passed the sweet potatoes, and all good intentions flew out the window.  Seeing those sweet potatoes, I knew I’d be making vegetable lasagne.  A quick rethink and another dash back to the dairy section.  And off to the kitchen.

Vegetable Lasagne 01

Vegetable Lasagne

8 lasagne sheets
1 can (425 ml) diced tomatoes, or any ready-made tomato sauce
2 x 300 g pack béchamel sauce
2 tsp brown / cane sugar
1 garlic clove, crushed
3 tsp dried oregano
½ sweet potato, grated
½ aubergine, grated
1 pepper, colour of your choice, finely diced
ca. 300 g fresh mushrooms, finely diced
salt
freshly ground pepper
oil or butter for frying
2 x 125 balls mozzarella, sliced
2 x 125 balls mozzarella, diced

Vegetable Lasagne 02

Heat oil in a large frying pan, add sugar but don’t let it caramelise – add sweet potato, stir, then add aubergine, pepper and mushrooms.  Fry until slightly browned, then turn off heat.  Stir in the diced tomatoes.

Line the bottom of the lasagne pan with béchamel sauce, then build layers adding lasagne sheets, vegetables, diced mozzarella, and so on, finishing with a layer of sliced mozzarella.  Bake for 30 – 35 minutes at 200°C / 400°F in a fan oven.

Vegetable Lasagne 03

To get this particular lasagne pan filled to the top, I used 8 sheets.  I use shop bought béchamel light sauce, 1 ½ packs.  As with lots of dishes, I like to sprinkle my plated lasagne with a finely diced chilli.

Vegetable Lasagne 04

I always use my IKEA cake pan to make lasagne for one (okay, two…) because the lasagne sheets exactly fit the width of this pan.  Half of it I took to work today for lunch, as usual, but the other half – I admit to eating it all.  Always.  Now if you look at the size of this pan and think about eating half of it – if you have never done that and never would, I applaud you.  If you say you’d at least think about it but would have enough strength and discipline not to follow through, I envy you.  My decision last night was to eat half the lasagne, and so I did.

And now I got that craving out of the way, I hope I’ll be able to stick to salad for a while.  Or at least until the weekend, when the Christmas baking starts 🙂

Vegetable Lasagne 05

