Cranberry Pecan Cookies

I’ve been invited to a Thanksgiving Dinner tomorrow – my very first.  So I decided to bring a homemade gift, one that’s quick to make as I made this decision sort of last minute.  Which is why I went for Glitter Sleuth’s Lemon-Cranberry-Pecan Cookies, slightly adapted in as far as I didn’t use the lemon glaze, so mine are just Cranberry Pecan Cookies.

A great recipe, very easy to make, my cookies turned out beautiful, and I had to restrain myself from eating too many straight out of the oven.

Cranberry Pecan Cookies

½ cup butter,  at room temperature
½ cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
½ tsp grated lemon zest
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
½ tsp ground cinnamon
1 ½ cups roughly chopped pecans
1 ½ cups roughly chopped fresh cranberries

Preheat oven to 190°C / 375°F.  In a bowl, cream butter, the two sugars and lemon zest.  Beat in egg and vanilla extract until combined, then set aside.

In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder and cinnamon.  Gradually add the mixture to the butter mixture.  Gently stir in the pecans and cranberries.

Drop teaspoonfuls of the mixture onto a baking sheet fitted with baking paper.  Make sure to leave some space between the individual cookies.  Bake 10 – 12 minutes, or until golden brown.  Remove from oven and transfer to a cooling rack.

My experiences with this recipe:

The butter didn’t get creamy, so it probably hadn’t reached room temperature yet.  However this didn’t influence the end result.

To drop the dough mixture onto the baking sheet I used spoons that were slightly larger than teaspoons but not as large as dessert spoons, because I wanted small cookies.  For the small ones it’s enough to leave about 3.5 cm / 1.5 inches of space in between.

My cookies were done in 10 minutes.  The amount of dough used made 40 smallish cookies.

