Cranberry & Pear Crumble

It’s been about a week since I realised my eating habits have gone into a bit of a decline (again).  Someone told me it’s due to the weather and the cold setting in. Well, I’ll gladly take that excuse, thank you.  However, I have good intentions to revert back to healthy.  Tomorrow.  Of course.  When else?  Which would make tonight the night for a last indulgence.  Or two… you’ll see in a moment.

Cranberries – fresh or frozen – are something you don’t get here in just any shop, you  have to go out of your way to get them.  So I was happy to stumble upon them in a quite out of my way supermarket last weekend.  Ever since my trip to the UK in June I’ve been wanting to make cranberry relish.  But that’ll have to wait, I went for a crumble instead.  Remember – indulgence…

So I started making a cranberry and pear crumble.  I had originally planned on cranberry and apple, but when I got going, quite a few things I hadn’t planned on took my fancy.   For one, I had enough fruit to make two small(ish) crumbles, and while I made them I came to think of them as the clean and the dirty version.  The clean one being a pure, no-nonsense crumble, and the dirty one being the one where I added not just extra sugar but mixed it with cocoa powder and added that to the fruit.  Then I also added some cocoa powder to the crumble mixture, added a bit more sugar (had to, didn’t I, to make up for the unsweetened cocoa powder…), then added pecan nuts to both the fruit and the crumble mixture.   Indulgence!

Cranberry & Pear Crumble

250 g cranberries
2 pears
8 tbsp flour
6 tbsp rolled oats
125 g butter, softened
3 tsp cane sugar
butter flakes
extras for dirty version
3 tsp cane sugar
2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
handful of roughly chopped or broken up pecan nuts

Peel pears if wanted (I peeled one and used the other with skin left on just to try it out).  Cut into bite size pieces.  Blanch cranberries for a maximum of 5 minutes, some of them should burst open, but if you leave them longer they’ll just get mushy.  Mix fruit with sugar.  For the dirty version mix fruit with sugar, 1 tsp cocoa powder and 3/4 of the nuts.

For the crumble, mix flour, oats and butter, and rub together with your fingers until crumbly.  (I always use rubber gloves for this, by the way, so the stuff doesn’t stick to your fingers too much or gets under your fingernails.)  Spread half of the crumbles over the clean version, then work cocoa powder into the remaining crumbles, add remaining nuts, and spread over the dirty version.  You need to taste the crumble mixture to decide whether you want to add sugar to it, I added another 2 tbsp.

Top with butter flakes, pop into oven at 190°C / 375°F using fan, and cook for 20 minutes.  Indulge!

