Apple & Sage Chutney – Goodness In A Jar

Autumn has definitely arrived here, even though the sun showed itself all morning – unlike yesterday, when it rained almost nonstop, probably to make us aware of the fact that summer is over.

I’m happy to say that I’ve achieved my goal of keeping all the herbs I grew on my balcony this year alive.  But as I’ll be travelling at the end of next week for a whole week, I thought it was time to harvest at least part of the herbs and use them before I leave.

Which is why I decided to make chutney (again).  I have this recipe for Bramley Apple & Sage Chutney in my recipe folder, and I think it came from delicious magazine, but unfortunately (again) I really don’t know for certain.

Apple + Sage Chutney 01

Anyway, I’ve adapted that recipe because I couldn’t get any Bramley apples over here and went for New Zealand Braeburns instead.  Then I couldn’t find proper dates when I was out shopping, bought ones that were covered in some syrupy goo and decided to toss them in the bin.  So now it’s Braeburn Apple & Sage Chutney.  The recipe says this chutney can be stored for 3 – 18 months.  Yeah right…  We already know I’m not a patient person, so of course I tried some straight after it had cooled down.  If you feel like making this chutney, I only have one recommendation:  do not try this right away because you will want to eat it all right away – no way will this keep for 3 months, let alone 18! I know I will make this again soon, I will have to, because the half-filled jar I opened is already empty.  Maybe I’llrename this “goodness in a jar”…

Apple + Sage Chutney 02

Braeburn Apple & Sage Chutney

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

1 kg Braeburn apples, peeled and chopped
300 g onions, chopped
200 g muscavado sugar
15 sage leaves
1 tsp ground cinnamon
100 ml pineapple juice
150 ml cider
200 ml malt vinegar

Place all ingredients in a large pan, bring to a boil, then gently simmer for 2 hours, until most of the liquid has evaporated. Stir occasionally.

Fill into sterilised jars, seal, and store in a cool dark place for 3 – 18 months.

During preparation, I was on the phone for quite a while, and just when the timer dinged to tell me that the 2 hours of simmering were over, the phone rang again.  And during that conversation, my eyes fell on my kitchen scales and saw a sugar mountain in its bowl.  I kept staring at it, and then it registered – aaaargh!  I’d forgotten to add the sugar to the chutney!  Oh dear…  Nothing for it but adding it afterwards, then I let it simmer for another 40 minutes.  As you might have guessed from my above rantings, it didn’t do any harm.  Still, if you’re making this, I’d add the sugar before cooking…

Apple + Sage Chutney 03

