Tiramisu

Getting back to the tiramisu I made for my party at the beginning of September.  It’s a recipe I’ve been using ever since I found it on an Italian website in the early 1990s.  Hence, I can unfortunately not quote the source.

As mentioned in my party post, I portioned it off into takeaway containers for various reasons:  I didn’t have a dish that was large enough to hold tiramisu for twenty-two people, it was easy to stack the containers in the fridge, people could take leftovers home in the containers, and when you have it portioned off you realise one portion is enough, as it’s really rich – wouldn’t want it any other way, if I’m honest – and filling.  The nice thing about this recipe is that it’s made with Marsala instead of Amaretto.  It’s a very easy, straightforward recipe without fuss.  Unless you decide to prepare it for twenty-two people in individual containers…

Tiramisu

2 eggs
150 g sugar
200 mascarpone
1 bag ladyfingers
2 tbsp Marsala
coffee
cocoa powder

Feeds 4

Note: For 22 people I quadrupled the recipe, using up something between 60 – 80 ladyfingers, and approximately ½ a pot of coffee.

Beat the egg whites until stiff.  Then beat the egg yolks together with the sugar until creamy, add the mascarpone, the Marsala, and then stir in the beaten egg whites until no lumps are left.

Arrange a row of ladyfingers in a large dish, soak them with the coffee, add a layer of the mascarpone mixture, another layer of ladyfingers, soak with coffee, and finish with another layer of the mascarpone mixture.  Sieve cocoa powder on top.  Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

You usually let the coffee get cold before soaking the ladyfingers in it, but I’m too impatient and use it lukewarm.  As for the amount, I use a tablespoon to pour coffee over each ladyfinger individually, then when they’re all done, I check to see how much coffee they have absorbed, and pour over some more.  It doesn’t matter if a small amount of coffee pools on the bottom of the dish, the ladyfingers will soak it up eventually.

Enjoy!

 

