Last treat before dropping off the radar…

I went into town yesterday morning to get some party utensils for next Saturday.  We currently have the Wine Village running in Stuttgart, so the market was moved to the main shopping street.  I could have bought flowers at every stall, they were so colourful and beautiful, the colour palette ranging from pretty summer pinks to vibrant autumn colours.  The fruit looked great, too, so I bought some raspberries, nectarines and greengages.

Knowing I’ll be too busy next week with party preparations to indulge in trying out anything new, and most likely dropping off the radar for most if not all of next week, I used the filo dough I had in the fridge together with the freshly bought nectarines and greengages to make dumplings, adapted from an apple dumpling recipe I saw in the Sweet Paul online magazine.

This is a very easy recipe.  The apples can be substituted with whatever fruit you fancy, I guess, as long as the amount you use is not too heavy, otherwise the filo pastry will tear.  I used two filo sheets on top of each other because they were quite brittle.  Also, I found the sanding sugar on top is a nice visual element, but a bit impractical as it’ll fall off the instant you slice the dumplings.  Overall verdict:  very delicious, and great for using up fruit;  I tasted them about 5 or 10 minutes after they came out of the oven, and it was lovely to have them still slightly warm.   Also quite good if you need to make a sweet treat in a hurry, for unexpected guests, or to bring to a party…

