Zucchini & Potato Gratin with Rosemary

Still using up my zucchini supplies, and whereas last week I got that cannonball of a zucchini, this time I got one that was only a little larger than a baseball.  Which suited me perfectly, because I was cooking only for myself last night, and I also had a few small potatoes left.  I haven’t made this gratin for ages, mainly because I’m used to making it for four people in a large dish.  So this time it was going to be the mini version.

Zucchini & Potato Gratin with Rosemary

500 g zucchini, thinly sliced
500 g potatoes, thinly sliced
250 ml milk
250 ml cream
pinch cayenne
1 – 2 sprigs rosemary, needles only
salt
pepper
grated cheese [Edam or Gruyère]
butter

Feeds 4 as a side dish

Thinly butter a pie dish.  Arrange potato and zucchini slices in terraced layers, lightly seasoning every layer with salt and pepper.  [I don’t use too much salt, because the cheese will be salty, too. You’re supposed to press the potato slices between sheets of kitchen roll to get them as dry as possible.  I do this when I make a large dish so that there won’t be too much liquid, but I didn’t with this small amount.]  Preheat oven to 200°C / 400°F (180°C / 350°F in a fan oven).

Mix together milk, cream, cayenne, a little salt, pepper, rosemary needles and the grated cheese, and pour over the vegetables.  [You might need to redistribute the cheese evenly because due to its mass it tends to stick to the bottom of the bowl/container you mixed your ingredients in and then plop onto the vegetables in one bulk.]

Distribute little butter flakes over the surface. [As many as you like, though I usually hold back a little to see how much fat the cheese releases during the baking process.  You can always add more during baking if you find the cheese looks too dry.]  Bake for about 60 minutes, or until surface is golden brown and crispy.

I was actually thinking of going into town after work yesterday and browse through some shops instead of cooking, but then decided I felt like cooking after all.  A friend of mine said she was wondering where I got the patience from to cook every night and then blog about it, too.  She would just wolf everything down.  Well – I found that blogging keeps you from wolfing everything down, what with the pictures you want to take while the food still looks good, and that does wonders for your patience.

This then made me wonder what other bloggers’ way of doing things was.  Do they cook something for the sole purpose of blogging about it, taking all the time it needs to take pictures, no matter if the food goes cold?  Or do they – like me – decide they want to cook something in particular, and then see along the way whether it’s worth sharing and blogging about, the main purpose of the cooking session being to feed yourself or someone else?  Hope someone will share their practices!

