Sweet Treat Of The Week

Yesterday I felt the urge to make that day my “one sweet treat a week” day.  I wanted to try this recipe for sticky buns (cinnamon rolls) I saw on My Goodness.  Actually, I’ve been meaning to give cinnamon rolls a try for quite some time, but I got the final kick in the behind to really make some when I saw that post and the delicious picture.

So off to shopping after work to get the ingredients, then throwing myself into my baking endeavours.  What I loved about this recipe was that you don’t bake the buns the same day but leave them in the fridge overnight – perfect for me because I like to take my baked goods to work in the morning, so popping them in the oven while I did my getting-ready-for-work routine fit nicely into my morning schedule.

A note on the dough:  I thought I’d done something wrong because the dough wasn’t like the yeast doughs I’ve made before, it seemed a bit too firm, and it didn’t seem to rise properly, it definitely didn’t double.  I ignored this, and all was still well in the end.

The only problem with these sticky buns – they smelled so incredibly good when they came out of the oven that I didn’t feel like sharing them but wanted to eat the whole tray right there and then.  Having my car smell of warm sticky buns on the drive to work didn’t help either, it was just mouth-watering.

I made it through the day to our afternoon coffee break at 2:30, though.  Well worth waiting for!  I also managed to stash away a couple for breakfast tomorrow morning.  We Swabians tend to dunk baked goods into our coffee, and these buns seem to be made for that…

Yesterday I felt the urge to make that day my “one sweet treat a week” day.  I wanted to try this recipe for sticky buns (cinnamon rolls) I saw on My Goodness.  Actually I’ve been meaning to give cinnamon rolls a try for quite some time, but I got the final kick in the behind to really make some when I saw that post and the delicious picture.

So off to shopping after work to get the ingredients, then throw myself into my baking endeavours.  What I loved about this recipe was that you don’t bake the buns the same day but leave them in the fridge overnight – perfect for me because I like to take my baked goods to work in the morning, so popping them in the oven while I did my getting-ready-for-work routine fit nicely into my morning schedule.

Also, last night while the dough was rising, I was able to use that time to try out another recipe for my dinner, but more on that another time.  A note on the dough:  I thought I’d done something wrong because the dough wasn’t like the yeast doughs I’ve made before, it seemed a bit too firm, and it didn’t seem to rise properly, it definitely didn’t double.  I ignored this, and all was well in the end.

The only problem with these sticky buns – they smelled so incredibly good when they came out of the oven that I didn’t feel like sharing them but wanted to eat the whole tray right there and then.  Having my car smell of warm sticky buns on the drive to work didn’t help either, it was just mouth watering.

I made it through the day to our afternoon coffee break at 2:30, though.  Well worth waiting for!  I also managed to stash away a couple for breakfast tomorrow morning.  We Swabians tend to dunk baked goods into our coffee, and these buns seem to be made for that…

