Zucchini Soup

My dad called the other day saying he’d harvested a cannonball of a zucchini. It had been hidden underneath a leaf, so he’d overlooked it, and could I use it.

Even though every other blog I’ve subscribed to seems to be about zucchini these days, I thought: OK, it is the season, and I have a great recipe for zucchini soup, so I’ll jump on the zucchini wagon as well.

Many many years ago, I found a recipe for cucumber soup with dill in a magazine.  Thinking “yuck” because I don’t like dill and had a vision of a watery cucumber, I wanted to turn the page, when I thought about substituting the cucumber for zucchini.

It was the time when zucchini started to become the great new thing in cooking.  Suddenly everyone planted them in their garden, and so did my parents.  Thanks to them, I have a steady supply all through summer.

This recipe has always been a success, it’s really easy and quick, and it’s also great for parties as the soup can be served either hot or cold.

Zucchini Soup

1 large zucchini
3 tbsp sunflower oil
1 small onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, crushed
125 ml white wine
pinch sugar
pinch pepper
pinch powdered coriander
½ tsp powdered ginger
1 tsp salt
250 ml cream
1 tsp herb vinegar
herb of your choice to garnish

Feeds 4 as a starter

Peel and dice the zucchini.  Fry onion in hot sunflower oil, then add diced zucchini and garlic.  Add white wine and simmer until zucchini cubes have softened.

Leave to cool, then purée in blender.

Stir spices, vinegar and cream into the puréed mixture and reheat. Do not let boil! [I used malt vinegar as I didn’t have the herbal variety, and that was perfectly alright, too.]

Before serving, you could sprinkle the soup with a herb of your choice.  As the original recipe asks for dill to go with the cucumber, I suppose you could use that.  But basil, oregano, or even mint would go well with the zucchini, too.  Serve hot or cold.

