Herb Rescue

Now that the sun has finally made an appearance for more than one day in a row, spring has arrived shortly before the official start of summer, and my herbs and flowers are growing nicely, I had to make today into herb & flower rescue day.  Our house will be painted and will be hidden in scaffolding as of tomorrow, apparently for the next three months.  So we all had to clear our balconies and remove all outdoor furniture and flowers.

I was at a bit of a loss as to where to put them exactly, because the windowsill in the living room is really narrow.  I managed to get all the small herb pots on there, though.  The larger planters I put on those little wheelie thingies so I can push and pull them around and move them onto the balcony on the weekends when the painters aren’t working.

As my living room is usually devoid of plants, except for the occasional bunch of flowers that I buy at the market on Saturdays, it looks a bit like a greenhouse now in comparison.  I have to say I prefer to have them outside, having them all inside is a bit too much for me.

The balcony, however, is really ugly now that it’s empty.  Once I’ve removed the metal shelves where my plants normally sit and empty pots are stored, you can see all the dirt and marks the rain has left over the years.  Not a nice sight.  Hope they’ll paint it a nice colour.  I also hope that it won’t really take three months for it all to be finished.  Remember – I wanted this to be the year where I would take really good care of my plants, look after them until the end of summer, and then try to make them stay alive until next year.  I have this vision of a balcony in bloom, so we’ll see how that goes.  I’ll keep you updated.

