Herbs – who needs them?

I do.  I love them fresh, and every spring I look forward to growing new ones from seeds.  It’s fun and exciting to sow the seeds, check the earth every other day to see if anything’s growing yet.  With me, however, the fun and excitement only last until about July, but more on that later.

I have to admit I’m someone who doesn’t stick with things.  I like trying out new things, get excited about them and then somewhere along the way I give up.  I don’t know why really, maybe I get bored with stuff once I know that it works and how it works, or maybe I’ve just got a short attention span.  Some things grab my attention on a regular basis, though, like the herbs.  As I said, I like the whole growing process, expectantly waiting for the day I can finally use the first herbs in my kitchen.  I grow basil, thyme, sage, mint, and oregano.  Every March.  And sometime around July it usually happens – I notice my interest in them waning.  And come September, I just can’t be bothered anymore.  The only herb that survived from last year – without me doing anything at all, just left it out on the balcony to see what happens – is the sage.  Having said that, it doesn’t really look great, more like a sorry excuse for a herb.  But it lives, so maybe I need to take special care of it this year and see if it’ll survive for longer.

A friend of mine’s husband, whose green thumb I really envy, also grows herbs.  Only he doesn’t need to grow new ones every year because he takes such good care of his, packs them up for winter, and they’ve meanwhile grown to bushes over the years.  Their balcony is a herb paradise.  I want that too.  Only I don’t want to do all the work.  Maybe I should hire someone…

Then again, maybe this year will be different.  We’ll see how it turns out.  Meanwhile, you can watch my herbs grow with me.  I’ll keep you updated on their progress.

