Not what I expected

So I finally published my blog last night – but I am in no way satisfied with it.  I let myself be persuaded by a friend to finally do it – go on, it’s really easy, I’ve tried it.  You just open a post, then publish it.  So, published it is, but as is clearly visible, it needs beautifying.  It’s so not what I imagined it to be.  I wanted to wait until I had everything perfect in draft and then publish it.  Which admittedly could have taken a very, very long time.

And that’s exactly what happens when I cook.  I see it – mostly in pictures that go with recipes – and I visualize the finished product, on a plate, on the dinner table.  Only sometimes it  doesn’t look like the picture in the cook book.   But it’s got to go on the table.  The thing is that none of the guests will know what the picture looked like.  What I envisioned it to look like.  It may taste perfect, but it’s just not what I wanted it to look like.  But there’s no time to do anything about it, the guests are at the table, the oven timer has pinged, it’s ready.  So maybe some last minute decoration or artful arranging on the plate will help a little to bring it closer to my standards.  It already looks OK for everyone else.

And hopefully so will this blog.  There are so many incredibly beautiful sites out there that I feel almost ashamed I’ve published mine before it has measured up to even my own expectations.  But I am ready, my timer has pinged, I have things I want to talk about… so maybe one day soon this site will be as ready as I am.

