Blog Of The Year 2012

Coming home from our company Xmas party last night, I logged onto this blog and was surprised to find this:

Blog of the Year Award 1 star jpeg

What can I say but :-D :-D :-D and a big fat thank you to Johnny from Feed The Piglet for nominating me for the Blog of the Year 2012 award. As I said to Johnny, this sounds like the mother of all awards.

I’m still awed by the fact that you discover someone’s blog, they discover yours, you get ideas from each other, and you’re looking forward to what people come up with next. You’re sitting there thinking of something you could make / cook / bake that you haven’t read about anywhere else before, then you read someone’s blog post, and there it is – an inspiration, an idea, a visual… It’s fantastic! And I’m honoured to have been nominated for this award by someone who always comes up with something new and interesting that makes me go Aha! and Oooh – great idea!

You can read about the rules for this award here, but the gist of it is that you can sort of get upgrades on this award – it’s a six star award! When you receive it for the first time like I did today, it’s your first star. Every time you’re given this award by another blog, you can add a star, until you have six of them.

And here are the blogs I’d like to nominate for the Blog of the year 2012 award, again in no particular order, and you’ll have seen me nominating some of these blogs before so it only makes sense to pass on this award to them:

Chez Chloe – Reading Wendy’s blog posts and recipes, and exchanging comments with her makes me feel like I’m having a conversation with a friend. Her writing seems easy-going, and I love her personal stories interwoven into her posts. And of course I’ve been inspired by quite a few of her recipes.

Finger, Fork & Knife – Kate has come up with quite a few unusual recipes that have made me try something like it, and I really like her food styling and pictures.

MD Kitchen – I’ve just passed on another award to Kristina earlier this month, because her’s is a blog I get inspired by, too, and I always look forward to her posts.

Big Hungry Gnomes – I always come away with an idea or two reading Fiona’s posts. Her latest one – Dark Ale Christmas Cakes – already has my mind whirring with ideas.

I’m sure the nominees will keep on inspiring me into 2013. Until then, you can pick up your award badges here – have fun!

