Homemade Herb Butter

I love herb butter! In Germany, if you order steak in a restaurant or steak house you’ll get herb butter to go with it. When I was in the US for the first time and we went to a steakhouse I was soooooooo disappointed to learn they don’t serve herb butter with their steaks. The meat was fantastic but still it took away some of my joy because I was expecting herb butter.

Herb butter is so easy to make and so quickly done, and yet I so very rarely make it. This time it just happened because I had an abundance of herbs I needed to use up. But what with having my own herb plantation on my balcony I think I will make it more often this summer.

The beauty of herb butter is that you can use any herbs you like. With this one I went easy on the sage as I didn’t want it to be dominant. Next time I make this I will use a little rosemary and lots of lemon thyme, with some chives thrown it. Already looking forward to that…

Homemade Herb Butter

250 g butter at room temperature
handful tarragon leaves*
handful flat leaf parsley*
10 sage leaves
1 garlic clove, crushed
coarse salt, freshly ground

*When I say a handful I’m talking about leaves only, no stalks, and not a loose handful either. If you own measuring cups, a 2/3 cup of tightly packed leaves should do.

Make sure to take the butter out of the fridge in time so it will be soft to the touch, but not melting, when you use it.

Finely chop the herbs in a food processor, then mix into the butter together with the crushed garlic. [Either use a garlic press to crush it, or if you use a food processor, throw it in with the herbs.]

Season with freshly ground salt, but do so sparingly. About 3 turns with a salt mill should do. The taste – both of the salt and the garlic – will develop while the butter sets in the fridge. Refrigerate, and take out about 15 minutes before serving.

Note: You can either place your herb butter in a dish, if you’re going to serve it to go with bread, or place it on baking parchment, roll it into a sausage, tie the ends, refrigerate, then slice into rounds before serving.

