Chocolate Nectarine Muffins with Raspberry-Passion Fruit Cream Cheese Topping

I hear this old Joan Baez song in my head, but instead of “Where have all the flowers gone” I hear “Where is all my discipline”… A couple of weeks ago I left work early – first sign of lacking discipline – to go gift shopping, finished that surprisingly quickly, and on the way home realised I had almost a whole afternoon to myself. What would I do? Go out with my camera? Or sit on the balcony and watch the flowers grow, with a steaming cup of coffee close by and… And here my discipline said goodbye for another day and left me with thoughts of chocolate muffins, with some nectarines that needed to be eaten asap, and a cream cheese topping.

Sorry, people, but here’s another sweet post. I didn’t fancy plain cream cheese topping – after all I had lots of time and could experiment – and remembered an unopened pack of raspberry-passion fruit juice lurking in my kitchen. Everything turned out almost as I had envisioned it, only the topping I messed up completely. Not bothering to look up my usual topping ingredients ratio, I just went on mixing. Then I messed up on the colour, too.

Then I did something you might think reprehensible (I think I do) – I used the gift I bought earlier that day as a prop for this post! I couldn’t resist as it’s totally something I would love to own but have absolutely no space to either display or store. I’m telling myself it’s not as if I put dirty laundry in it, so maybe it’s not that reprehensible. What do you think?

This muffin recipe is adapted from my Schokolade book, originally it’s a recipe for chocolate muffins with warm chocolate filling. I use the basic muffin recipe and add whatever fruit I fancy, and I also double the amount, which makes exactly 12 muffins.

I won’t write down the recipe for the failed topping here, as I’m sure you all have your own favourite recipe for a great topping.  Please send me your recipes or links if you do!

Chocolate Nectarine Muffins (with Raspberry-Passion Fruit Cream Cheese Topping)

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

150 g soft margarine
100 g castor sugar
2 large or 3 medium eggs
180 g flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
3 nectarines, cut any which way you like

Mix all ingredients except nectarines, either with a handheld mixer or a food processor. When it’s turned into a smooth batter, add the nectarines and mix in with a spatula.

Line a muffin tin with paper moulds, and divide the batter among them. [I used an ice cream scoop for the first time to do this, and it was a great experience, no mess at all.]

Bake at 190°C / 375°F for 20 minutes, then take out of the oven and leave for 2 minutes. Remove muffins from tin, and let cool completely on a wire rack.

Dust with icing sugar before serving, or serve with your favourite icing.

