Quick Tofu Bolognese With A Little Twist

The other day I noticed getting quite a few referrals from another blog, Aroma Journal, and was puzzled because both my food blogs were linked under “vegetarian food blogs”. Which is when I realised that, indeed, I post mainly non-meat recipes. Hmmm. That’s not on purpose, it’s just that I don’t cook meat that often because I’m a very picky meat-eater. When I do eat meat it’s mainly pork tenderloin, chicken, a reaaaaaally good piece of steak every once in a while, and mince meat.

The mince meat part reminded me that I’d been thinking of posting this Bolognese recipe for some time but was a bit hesitant. How many of those do people need? But the little twist in this one makes it worth blogging about. A German TV cook, Alexander Herrmann, mentioned on one of his shows that this little twist makes all the difference with a Bolognese sauce, no matter whether it’s the real thing – prepped and cooked for hours – or a quick version, like this one.

This little twist I’m talking about consists of three ingredients, in very small measures – bay leaf, freshly grated nutmeg and ground cloves.

I sometimes add both tomato paste and a vegetable stock cube, but with the brand of tomatoes I use I don’t really need either as they’re very tasty.

This particular version came about because I had Asian mie noodles left over, so I used these instead of cooking spaghetti. Also, this was more of an impromptu dish today due to the weather being really miserable this morning and I felt like comfort food, but I didn’t have any mince meat so I decided to crumble a soft-ish piece of tofu instead. I haven’t eaten tofu in a very long time and have only gotten back to it a couple of months ago, but it worked very well for a vegetarian Bolognese.

Quick Tofu Bolognese With A Little Twist

  • Servings: 3 - 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

500 g Spaghetti
500 g soft tofu, crumbled
1 large or 2 small cans chopped tomatoes (I use very finely chopped ones)
olive oil
butter
1 sweet onion, chopped
2 – 3 garlic cloves, chopped
salt
pepper
freshly ground nutmeg
ground cloves
1 bay leaf
parmesan cheese for serving

Sauté chopped onion and garlic in a mix of olive oil and butter, then add the crumbledtofu. Fry until cooked, then season with salt and pepper. [Depending on your type of tofu it will brown like meat would. My version did not.] Add chopped tomatoes, bay leaf, nutmeg (about 5 – 6 slides over your rasp) and a very small amount of ground cloves (if you have a pinch measuring spoon, make it ½ a pinch). Stir well and let simmer while cooking the pasta.

When the Bolognese has a consistency to your liking, remove bay leaf, and serve with the spaghetti and grated parmesan cheese.

