The Colour Yellow

Yesterday morning when I left for work, I overheard the painters talking about which of the three colours were going on which parts of our house.  Hang on – three colours?!  I live in a block of flats with three entrance ways.  Then I saw the colour samples they had painted on the first third of the block.  Sage green (Yesss!  Love that colour.), mango (okaaaay, but on a block of flats?), and yellow (NO! Oh nooo, please!).  I couldn’t really stop to listen, that would have been rude, so I tried to gather as much information as I could in passing by.  Something about the overall base colour being yellow, I didn’t get where the mango would go, and the entrance towers would be sage green. Which gave me hope, because one side wall of the entrance tower is also the side wall of my balcony.  At the moment our block is also painted in three colours, but three light shades of blue, very relaxing, subdued colours, not some garish ripe fruit on a market stall colours.  You see, I have nothing against yellow as such – I just think yellow should only be seen in nature (as opposed to walls, clothing, shoes), in sunflowers, bananas, peppers, and lemons.  Which incidentally brings me to yesterday’s baking…

I’ve had Julie Le Clerc’s Little Café Cakes sitting on my bookshelf for years and have finally baked something from it, the Lemon Sour Cream Cakes with Lemon Sugar.  I also have these new silicone mini cake forms, so off to the kitchen.

Sour Cream Cakes with Lemon Sugar

125 g butter
190 g sugar
grated zest of 1 lemon
3 eggs
½ tsp lemon essence
125 g sour cream
250 g plain flour
1 tsp baking powder

juice of 3 lemons
250 g sugar

Preheat oven to 160°C.  Beat butter and sugar together until creamy and pale, add lemon zest, eggs, lemon essence and sour cream.  Then sift in flour and baking powder.

Pour into greased tins and bake for 20 minutes.  When done, mix lemon juice and sugar and pour over cakes.

That was the recipe, and here is how things went in my kitchen.  To use up all the dough in one go, I filled both my new mini cake silicone forms as well as my canneles silicone forms as they both fit on a baking tray next to each other, and the shapes and sizes are similar.

As you can see in the pictures, the buggers in the canneles forms did the same thing as when I made canneles – they grew over the top and as a result some of them are lopsided.  The mini cakes turned out real pretty.

Also, you’re supposed to let the cakes cool in their tins, but as you have to pour over the lemon sugar mixture when they come out of the oven, I had to take mine out of their forms as they were of course upside down.  Didn’t seem to have done them any harm, though.  I tried one while it was still warm, and it seemed a bit dry, but this morning they were really good – the sugar lemon mix had crystallized, and they were very fresh inside.

So, after a shockingly yellow start a nice lemony yellow ending to a hot summer day.

