Confiture française – Pommes et Amandes (and a Puff Pastry Apple Tart)

A couple of years ago, a colleague brought me back a present from her holidays in France – apple, fig & nut jam.  It was heavenly, I wanted to eat it all in one go.  But I didn’t, I made it last for a year and gave myself Brownie points for my restraint.  At the end, when there were only about two teaspoons left in the jar, I vowed I’d try to make this jam myself.  As with so many ideas that I have, I never got round to it.  Until this weekend!  I made an apple cake a while ago and had bought way too many apples and couldn’t come up with anything I wanted to do with them.  And then I came across this bag of almonds which was next to the jam sugar in my kitchen cupboard, and the light bulb went on in my head…

So this Saturday I tried it, but without the figs and with almonds instead of hazelnuts.  I roughly puréed the apples so the end result would still show pieces of fruit.  The almonds I chopped a bit more thoroughly.  Throw in pot, add jam sugar, et voilà -  confiture de pommes et amandes!  I tried the result this morning – I like it, even though it’s just good and not heavenly.  There’s still hope my colleague will travel to France again…

When I made this batch yesterday, I still had apples left over, so I made a small quick puff pastry apple tart, with sugar, cinnamon and butter flakes on top.  Oops, I’m drooling again.  I liked that better than the jam…

I still had apples left over after that, so the question was whether to make another apple tart, or to make some more jam.  This morning I decided on the healthier option and made some more jam.  I used ready ground almonds this time, and I didn’t cook everything right away, but mixed in the jam sugar and let it sit for an hour before cooking.  This way the jam sugar is supposed to draw some liquid from the fruit and it should become more soupy.  Didn’t happen.  Result:  looks a little more like baby food but no difference in taste.

Now I’ll have to figure out what to do with all the jam.  No one’s complained yet, but I’m not sure if I can force another jar of home made jam on family and friends…

